My Top five healthy meals


Taking a pretty radical shift from fashion here. Other than having a penchant for fashion, I am also a bit of a health nut. So, I decided to post my top 5 healthy entrees. I am a graduate student, so perpetually on a budget. So if you are in college/living on your own/trying to eat healthy without burning a huge hole in your pocket, please try these:

1. Baked salmon with some Garlic Bread. This is the recipe I use to bake my salmon. But there are a LOT of other recipes I have tried in the past. This one just works for us. I often substitute dried dill instead of fresh. I do use fresh garlic instead of garlic powder. Oh, and don’t get me started on the benefits of including salmon or Omega-rich fishes in your diets… I could write an essay.

2. Sauteed spinach with Angel Hair – This is my own creation hehe. I buy a bunch or two of raw spinach and wash it thoroughly using a colander. For some reason, my spinach has a tendency to be REALLY muddy. Then I chop the leaves, I add some stems in as well. The stems closest to the leaves are VERY tender. I mince some fresh garlic and add it to about 2 tablespoons of olive oil. I keep the stove on at 3 to medium. I add some chilli flakes… this is where you gotta be careful. I LOVE me my spices, but you might not. I also throw in some freshly ground black pepper. After a minute or two, the oil gets seasons with all these flavors and spices. Now I add my spinach and stir every 5 minutes or so. It might look like a LOT of spinach going in, but when it gets cooked it shrivels up to a much smaller amount. I put parmesan on my boiled pasta.

3. Lemon Sesame Asparagus – This is something the local Whole Foods man came up with and I can’t get enough of it! Cut off an inch from the ends of the asparagus. You cut a bunch of asparagus diagonally in 1.5 inch pieces.Then you throw the asparagus into a pot of boiling water for 7 ish minutes. I have noticed when the asparagus turns BRIGHT green is when its tender but not over-boiled. Heat up some sesame oil in a pan. Drain the water from the asparagus using a colander. Sautee the asparagus for 3-4 minutes turning frequently. Now add the juice of 1 lemon. You can adjust this to your taste if you don’t like lemon. Sprinkle with sesame seeds and serve immediately. If you don’t serve quickly the lemon keeps cooking the asparagus and it starts to brown.

4. Asparagus and Mushroom pasta – This is another great find from Allrecipes.com. Here is the recipe. I make a few changes. I sautee 1-2 cloves of minced garlic in the oil until it turns light brown/golden. Then I add the asparagus and mushrooms. Then I add the red pepper flakes. I feel the raw mushrooms get more tender with the extra cooking time. Sometimes I add a few glugs of any white wine I have around and simmer for a minute. I add a generous dose of pepper too.

5. My boyfriend and I love grilling once summer comes around. One of our all time favorites is grilled cornish game hens with corn on the cob and a veggie side or salad. The game hen recipe is really simple – we season the hens with garlic salt and pepper and grill them 5-7 minutes on each side. The corn is a recipe that comes from back home in India. We literally blacken to corn on the grill or on the stove – get rid of the corn husks, rub the corn with some oil and let it sit on the stove on high. It makes angry noises but that’s okay. Turn every now and then so it gets burnt and blackened as evenly as possible. Once blackened, take off the stove and season with lime and salt.

So with the weekend coming up I hope you will try one or more of these healthy recipes and comment back to let us know if you liked any. Once again, please subscribe to get your daily dose of Personal Space. Follow us on Twitter and like us on Facebook. And do vote on our poll.

Happy Friday everyone!

-S

Disclaimer: All opinions are my own. No products were sent to me by any of these companies and they did not ask me to write this post.

Leave a comment

Filed under Food

Leave a Reply

