Shopping your way to a better planet


Last week was a great time for me and my boyfriend. He was graduating from his 5 year Architecture program and I got to fly down to Miami to see him. 🙂 Hence, my absence from the website for a couple days.

This was also going to be the first time that I would be meeting his mom and other family members. Naturally, I wanted to look my best! Which also meant I was on the hunt for a nice dress for the commencement ceremony……on a serious budget – $20-$30.

I must have looked every website I could think of, and every store that I could think of. Either the dress would fit and look the way I wanted it to or the price would be what I was looking for….not both.

So after spending an entire weekend in Boston with my friend looking for a dress, we were about to give up. That’s when we came across this little consignment store ‘Second Time Around‘ on Newbury Street.

A quick word about consignment stores, I LOVE them. They are different than thrift stores in the fact that they usually carry higher end brands that are in very good shape. They’re a great place to nab great brands and even better prices. At STA that day, my friend and I saw tons of Michael Kors handbags at least 50% off that were in great shape. Some still had their tags on them. One of my previous purchases from a consignment store in Florida is a black and white Coach wristlet that I nabbed for $18! Consignment stores are also a great thing to consider in time for Spring Cleaning, especially if you have clothes and accessories lying around that you don’t use anymore.

So, here’s the dress I got for Miami ($20!). It’s the brand Zara. I have seen their clothes before and they always have gorgeous dresses, that are usually a whole lot more expensive. I loved the way the dress draped in the front. The bottom half of the dress is a stretchier spandex material that hugs your curves just the right way. I paired it with a black tank top underneath – did not want to be showing off too much cleavage! LOL and a pair of Steve Madden heels (which are also a steal at $30 – Macy’s clearance!) Here’s a closer view of the dress from the front:


So, next time you come across a consignment store, be sure to look in. Shopping and recycling, all at the same time. Do you need a better reason?

Be sure to tell us about your experiences at a consignment store on our comment page, our FB page or Twitter page. 🙂

-R

Disclaimer: All opinions are my own. No products were sent to me by any of these companies and they did not ask me to write this post.

3 Comments

Filed under Clothes, Fashion, shoes, Uncategorized

3 responses to “Shopping your way to a better planet

  1. Love me some Zara…Wish they did online shopping or had a store near me! The dress is awesome

  2. WOW!!! I love Zara… What consignment store did you get it? Do you know what the store hours is and Where are they located? Thanks in advance! -Trisha

Leave a Reply

