Edgy twist to a Half-moon Manicure


It’s no secret that I’ve been very fascinated by different nail art techniques lately…A recent trend that I’ve been wanting to try out for a while is the Half-moon manicure. It’s been featured on different celebrities, My Style, TheLooksforLess and many more websites.

It’s a nail trend that was initially seen on Hollywood starlets in the 20s. But it’s definitely making a huge comeback. Here are some celebrities sporting this manicure:

   

The trend initially involved  using one shade of nail polish and just leaving a part of the nail bare. However, you can try it out using a subtle or bold combination of colors. For a subtle look I would pick maybe two shades of the same color such as a variation of purple, pink or any fun summer color you like. For a bolder look, I definitely like the shades Ciara and Rihanna are wearing.

I decided to try out this trend with a slight twist and really bright and bold colors. I picked a metallic blue from Love & Beauty from Forever 21 and a shiny orange shade (Free Love) from China Glaze.

I started out with a base coat, followed by a coat of the orange polish (you don’t have to be too good about following through on the entire nail). I then traced out a triangular shape near the base of my nail using my L.A. Colors Art Deco nail polish in black and then filled out the remainder of the with two coats of the blue polish. I retraced the black line, to make it bolder. Lastly, I topped it all off with a top coat.

Here are the results….the triangle gives it an edgy look, don’t you think?

                 

Tell us what you think of this trend….do you have a version of this trend that you have tried out?

Share some cool ideas of yours with us!

-R

Comment, FB or Twitter.

Disclaimer: All opinions are my own. No products were sent to me by any of these companies and they did not ask me to write this post.

Leave a comment

Filed under Fashion, Nail Art

Leave a Reply

