Reporting from India – Haircut


Hello avid readers!

Call me crazy but I waited 1.5 years to get my hair cut by my most trusted hairdresser in my hometown. I usually do cut my hair more often that this but  I just have not had a chance to find a new hairdresser since I moved from Colorado. My favorite salon (apparently in the world!) is Bridgette Jones in Kolkata, India. Unfortunately they do not have website (yet)! But I know for a fact that this salon caters to a good bit of the celebs and socialites of Kolkata. I personally feel like Bridgette and her trainees really work with what you want – they can do a conservative cut to a crazy one, just tell them what you are in the mood for! She has been my hairdresser from my school days through college and now grad school!

So this time I wanted something short since it is extremely hot here this year. I also wanted layers since its the only way my flat hair gets any oomph. I also wanted something fairly low maintenance – a wash and go type style. I also told her I wanted something that would look good styled with a curling iron. Without further ado, here are the results: -drumroll-

Other than haircuts, she also does a lot of hair coloring. In fact, my first coloring job was by her and I loved it. I might even go back to her later this month and get it colored. The only thing I haven’t tried at her salon is the nail art (perhaps R ought to!).

Additionally, I find this salon affordable by global standards. The closest salon to where I live charges $65 for a cut by the senior artist. Here, Bridgette is the senior artist and she charges $20. I cannot justify spending so much more for a cut by another senior artist… I’d rather get my hair cut by someone who caters to celebs in India! (Specially since I visit once a year!) If any of my lovely readers are every in Kolkata, India, they should DEFINITELY stop by this salon and get something cool done to their coiffeurs (or nails!).

See you in the next post! Remember to find us on twitter and facebook!

-S

Disclaimer: All opinions are my own. No products were sent to me by any of these companies and they did not ask me to write this post.

8 Comments

Filed under Beauty

8 responses to “Reporting from India – Haircut

  1. Sandipan

    Great haircut. I know what you mean when plenty of us feel so disappointed after an expensive yet not so personalized hairstyle in the US. Even i am never satisfied but again I never spend much 🙂
    Sorry I didnt check your other message.. have you tried Gariahat.. fav place for thrift shopping
    ~Sandy

    • Hi Sandy,
      Great to hear from you again! I feel like we have our FIRST regular fan haha! 😛
      I am going to New Market soon I think. Don’t know if I will make it to Gariahat… I happen to live in north Kolkata. Thanks for all your feedback! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Reporting from India – New haircolor! | p3rsonalspac3

  3. Pingback: Maintaining colored hair | p3rsonalspac3

  4. Pingback: Hair, skin and makeup tips – From an expert! | p3rsonalspac3

Leave a Reply

