Reporting from India – Brand Alert – Colorbar


Hello All,

I have recently stumbled upon a new and upcoming brand in India called Colorbar. I had heard about it from my mom,and she said this was an American company, since they marketed themselves as Colorbar USA. I do have a problem with this, because any research will reveal that these products are not American. They are in fact manufactured in India, and I think the brand should be proud of that fact. I, for one, would be fairly happy if they dropped the USA part. It would also be nice if the models used in the promo pictures were Indian. It would be a better representation of color cosmetics marketed for Indians anyways.

Although I have not tested out all the products, I did pick up four nail-polishes, the colors just struck me as unusual standing on the display. Each polish retails for $2 (according to the website, but prices MAY vary, and you MAY bargain :P). I picked up my favorite – Grape Sangria, which I am wearing right now. I also picked up number 14, 18, and 57. Number 14 is a gorgeous steel blue with no shimmer or sheen, 18 is a green gray (again without shimmer) and 57 is a transparent color infused with gold microglitter. Here’s grape sangria on my nails:

 

 

I do recommend using a ridge-filling base coat and the formula is kind of thin. It is opaque in 2 coats. I think the polishes are somewhere between a jelly to a cream. I did put on a shiny top coat. I use Zoya’s base and top coats. I am eager to see how long these will last without chipping. I have a few qualms about the polish – I am not sure what the ingredients are, could not find a list on the bottle or online. The brush also takes a bit of practice. I think you’d fair better if you started with too much polish vs. too little. Too little led to a streaky first coat. But second coat onwards, I just dipped and got more polish than would seem necessary.

Feel free to check out their website – they have a lot of interesting products. This shimmer bar seems very reminiscent of Bobbi Brown’s Shimmer Bricks. Let me know if you want me to check out any of the other products in the next 2 weeks. I will try my best to get a hand on some other items while I am here, especially if my readers are interested!
Talk to us on comments below or  twitter and facebook.

Disclaimer: All opinions are my own. No products were sent to me by any of these companies and they did not ask me to write this post.

2 Comments

Filed under Beauty

2 responses to “Reporting from India – Brand Alert – Colorbar

  1. I agree that if they are sold and manufactured in India that it is silly to be called Colorbar USA. It looks like great polish!!

Leave a Reply

