Trend watch from Florida : Colorblocking


Summer is in full swing here in Florida…so I haven’t been able to ignore my urge to use bold and bright colors in my wardrobe.

Colorblocking is a recent trend that basically involves using two bold and bright colors, that may be jarring alone, but create a beautiful combination together. Everyone from the first lady to different Hollywood celebrities seem to have jumped on the colorblocking bandwagon…

But colorblocking is definitely not limited to your outfits….for those who wish to ease into this trend….colorblocking manicures are here to the rescue! 🙂

Here’s what I tried —

  

I recently scored three Wet n Wild nail polishes from CVS for a total of $2.50! God bless the clearance basket! They were all 75% off.

Here are the colors I used:

1. Wet n Wild megalast nail color in Candy-licious

2. Wet n Wild Megalast nail color in Red Tape

3. Wet n Wild Wild Shine nail color in Metallica

Here’s the how to:

After applying a layer of base coat, I applied the pink Candylicious all over the nail. Once this layer had dried (allow at least 5 mins), I applied the red Red Tape over the other half of the nail. Lastly, you can join the two colors by applying a thing stripe of silver Metallica, between the two colored halves. It must be noted though that I don’t have any of my nail art supplies with me here, hence the silver stripe is a little wider than I would have liked. Also, I did the colorblocking manicure only on my thumbs and ring fingers….just to add a little whimsy 🙂

I’ll be posting more colorblocking ideas soon…be on the lookout! 🙂

Let us know if you have tried any colorblocking ideas yourself. Be sure to leave us a comment or check us out on twitter and facebook.

-R

Disclaimer: All opinions are my own. No products were sent to me by any of these companies and they did not ask me to write this post.

Leave a comment

Filed under Beauty, Fashion, Nail Art

Leave a Reply

