Maintaining colored hair


Hey all! So as you know I did recently get my hair colored with some highlights and a global base. I wanted to make sure I knew how to maintain the color and also nourish my hair as coloring is a fairly harsh chemical process. Taking no risks, I immediately asked Bridgette Jones, my trusted hair stylist since 10th grade or so! She is the one who also gave me my summer haircut!

Bridgette says there are 3 main steps to prolonging your hair color:

1. Shampoo – Use a sulfate free shampoo if you can deal with the lack of foam. If foam is a must, use a color guard type shampoo. She recommends Schwarzkopf BC Bonacure Hair Therapy Color Save Shampoo"". These shampoos usually have ingredients to stabilize the color and hence prolong it. I had hard time finding this brand in the US and found that Aveda has a Aveda Color Conserve Shampoo. I have been using this as a replacement for her recommendation.  She also told me to only apply shampoo to the scalp, and not the actual strands. The scalp is where the oily-ness associated with unwashed hair stems from, and as the shampoo rinses away, it will cleanse the strands. She said this is a good rule for non-colored hair as well!

2. Condition – Once again, coloring your hair does harm your hair, but it’s a risk worth it for me! However, you need a nourishing conditioner that can prevent and repair any damage that has occurred. Bridgette recommended the Schwarzkopf Color Save Conditioner . I could not find this too easily and continued using TIGI S Factor Serious Conditioner with Sunflower Seed Oil
. This is actually my regular conditioner anyways. It’s very rich, smells awesome and is enriched with sunflower seed oil.

3. Shine – Highlighted hair that shines when it catches any light looks GORGEOUS. In fact, that is the point of highlights! Bridgette recommends this as the finishing step after you are done drying/styling your hair. Bridgette recommends Schwarzkopf Osis Magic. I have used this multiple times at her salon and it made my hair feel soft and shiny for HOURS. However, I had to find a replacement and settles for Oscar Blandi Pronto Gloss – Instant Glossing Cream. I later noticed this cream comes with UV filters which is GREAT for colored hair. UV rays can actually bleach out the colors and highlights. I also realized a lot of color guard type shampoos come with UV filters too. I like the UV being in my last step though.

In retrospect I should’ve ordered off of Amazon.com (and gotten EXACTLY what she recommended!)… but went hunting in stores instead.
I hope this helps everyone who has gotten highlights to maintain them. Or help you if you are planning on highlights! Let me know if there are any other tried and true tips that you know off for colored hair by commenting/twitter and facebook.

-S

Disclaimer: All opinions are my own. No products were sent to me by any of these companies and they did not ask me to write this post.

1 Comment

Filed under Beauty

One response to “Maintaining colored hair

  1. Pingback: Hair, skin and makeup tips – From an expert! | p3rsonalspac3

Leave a Reply

