Hair, skin and makeup tips – From an expert!


Hello PSers,

Let me start out by apologizing for the lack of posts. I just got back from India and have been adjusting to the timezone ever since! However, I would like to post an interview I did with my favorite hairstylist – Bridgette Jones. I posted about her doing my hair cut, highlights, and how to maintain highlights. She has been in the haircare industry for VERY long and she is a celebrity stylist for a lot of Indian personalities. Additionally, she is originally from London – so her experience with hair is fairly global. As far as skincare and makeup goes, she is a professional make up artist and consults for celebrities and weddings all over India (and beyond). Despite being so busy, I am truly grateful that she had the time to answer these questions for me!

What kind of a routine do you recommend for humid weather?

A gel based shampoo would definitely help keep your scalp less oily. I like Schwarzkopf Deep Cleansing Expert Shampoo . I also think keeping your hair tied will reduce the frizz caused by humidity. Lastly, getting your hair trimmed regularly is very important in the more humid weather (I recommend every 3 months). I also think regular oiling does more harm than good in humid conditions.

How about a routine for drier weather?

A moisturizing shampoo is a must. I recommend Schwarzkopf Professional Bonacure Moisture Kick Shampoo for my clients. I also think a drier climate calls for a richer conditioning treatment, for example, a once a week intensive masque for the hair.

Do you switch up your routine (for hair and skin)? Do you think products become less and less effective over time?

Yes, I think after a point your system gets saturated of the current ingredients and cannot benefit from them. I think you need to give your hair and skin newer ingredients that will be active to get the most benefits.

What are your favorite make up brands in India as well as in the international market?

Within India I like Maybelline and L’oreal. In the global market, I use Laura Mercier and Bobbi Brown.

What are your favorite skincare lines?

I use a lot of brands that are only available in professional/salon outlets. My favorites are Bioline and Agelock. I will also soon be launching a French skincare line called Sothys at my salon.

I hope these tips help you all decide on hair, skin and make up! Do share your thoughts in comments, twitter and facebook.

-S

Disclaimer: All opinions are my own. No products were sent to me by any of these companies and they did not ask me to write this post.

Leave a comment

Filed under Beauty

Leave a Reply

