Wine and other fine things!


Hello PSers!

This is going to be a post completely off the beaten track. Over the last year, I have developed an immense appreciation for wine. what with all the research about reservatrol and such. In fact, since I don’t have a cellar or anything like that, when I buy wine, I place them in my closet, along with my dresses, bags, shoes and fashion finds. My first few wines were definitely the cheapest things I could find at the grocery, until I discovered a few online websites. This is not to say the wine here is better because its more expensive. Sometimes, they are AS expensive as the ones I’d purchase at the grocery, but it’s more of an educational experience.

I’ll be honest with you, I know very little about wine, but I enjoy reading about it. I mean I can taste a wine and tell you if it’s good or not, but as far as aromas of berries or chocolate go… I am clueless! My two favorite go-to wine websites are wine. woot and Lot18. Lot18 is a very recent find and I have not yet ordered from them. Wine.woot has been fueling my wine drinking for the last year or so.

Wine.woot features ONE deal per weekday and ONE deal over the weekend. So we usually get 6 deals every week. Sometimes they sell things other than wine – cheeses, wine racks, olives, and other gourmet food items. Once a month, they also do a “woot-off” where they put up multiple items that they have some inventory left of and sell it until it sells out. This event is a personal favorite! Shipping is usually $5.00 no matter how much wine you buy (and if you have ever browsed for wine in other websites, you’ll know this is an AWESOME deal). Over the summer, due to rising temperatures, shipping goes up to $7.00 to ensure your wine arrives in perfect condition. Additionally, I have heard on the forums that their customer service is nothing less than stellar. Another feature I love is that the forum offers a PLETHORA of knowledge, and you can always find me asking stupid questions but still getting answers to them.

Lot18 – my less familiar website seems to be like a designer sale for less website idea for wines – if you get my flow. They have some select wineries offering their wines at a discount price for a day or two. They are currently giving you a $10 credit for signing up (which would cover shipping). Additionally, if you order 4 or more bottles of the same wine, the winery covers shipping. Additionally, every Sunday night they give you some exclusive deals with free shipping. Unfortunately, this was my first Sunday… and none of the offerings were shipping to my state! I do like that Lot18 has more variety, and it provides tasting notes so you are not going in completely blind on the wines! Other than wines it also has gourmet foods and cheeses and such.

I hope you will be considering one of these websites for your next wine and cheese soiree! Do share your best wine finds with us through comments, twitter and facebook.

-S

Disclaimer: All opinions are my own. No products were sent to me by any of these companies and they did not ask me to write this post.

Leave a comment

Filed under Food

Leave a Reply

